piecing together a party: fun

One of the most fun parts of a birthday party for a little kid is the presents. Hank certainly looooved getting his birthday presents! We also had fun making little presents for his friends. Party favors! Once again, we kept it simple 😉

In keeping with the theme, we made “ice cream” favors… Playdough (with glitter!) shaped into balls. Placed into large glass jars, these “ice cream balls” made a cute centerpiece for the table.

IMG_7521

As guests left, the kids got two scoops of playdough and put them in their very own glass jar.

IMG_7523

I had been collecting the glass jars for a while – salsa jars, pickle jars, etc. I had been storing nuts and dried fruits and things, but our collection was growing too large for me to use. I found a good use for the party! These are only a few of the jars – I had about a dozen of them set up for the party, all cleaned up and decorated with washi tape.

IMG_7519

The other fun thing we did at the party was play Pin the Tail on the Donkey… Of all the pictures that we didn’t take, these are the ones I missed the most! The kids absolutely loved playing this game – both the 4 year old set and (most of) the 2 year old set. If I’d thought of it, I’d have had the adults play too – the kiddos would have loved seeing that! At any rate, it was a great source of delight, and it added a classic party touch to the event. Here is the set that I bought – I can highly recommend it! My one critique (as you’ll read in the amazon reviews) is that the tails fall off if you don’t use additional tape!! Such a cute set though, and you can use it again as it’s made with a kind of laminated paper.

 

pin the tail on the donkey

Leave a Reply

